News Flash Home
The original item was published from 4/21/2021 8:26:00 AM to 4/21/2021 8:27:51 AM.

News Flash

Media Releases

Posted on: April 20, 2021

[ARCHIVED] City Presents Mayor’s Environmental Stewardship Awards

Environmental Stewardship award winners

April 20, 2021

Contact:  Leif Olson
Sustainability Planner


City Presents Second Annual Mayor’s Environmental Stewardship Awards

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark.—The City of Fayetteville’s Environmental Action Committee is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2021 Mayor’s Environmental Stewardship Award. The Environmental Action Committee received nine applications for this second year of the award program and were impressed by both the quality and diversity of nominated entities. The award recipients selected this year are truly outstanding examples of environmental stewardship within our community, and the committee believes their enduring efforts have made a significant impact. They are:

  • Pack Rat Outdoor Store – Business
  • Arkansas Myriad – Industry/Manufacturing
  • Pattie Erwin – Individual/Educator

Award recipients were recognized by the Mayor and presented with their awards at the April 20, 2021 City Council Meeting.

Inaugurated in 2020, the Mayor’s Environmental Stewardship Awards recognize excellence in environmental stewardship demonstrated through sustainable practices, programs or projects undertaken by Fayetteville community members, non-profits, businesses and educators. Nominees demonstrate a commitment to environmental stewardship and sustainability through initiatives, practices and programs that align with one or more of the following achievement areas:

  • Environmental Stewardship
  • Pollution Prevention
  • Environmental Advocacy
  • Recycling and Sustainable Product Lifecycle
  • Environmental, Sustainability or Resiliency Education and Outreach
  • Energy Conservation
  • Clean Energy Production and/or Innovation
  • Resource Conservation, Rehabilitation, and Reclamation

All of the nominations received this year are worthy of praise for the contributions they make to our community’s sustainability efforts. Because of this, the Environmental Action Committee strongly encourages all nominees to keep up their good work. For more information on the Mayor’s Environmental Stewardship Award or the City’s Environmental Action Committee, please contact Leif Olson, Sustainability Planner 479-575-8269  or go to:




Facebook Twitter Email