Historic District Commission

The Historic District Commission was created on March 1, 1979 through Ordinance 2509 pursuant to the provisions of A.C.A. 14-172-206 to recommend the establishment of historic districts to the City Council. It was later amended by Ordinance 3836 on October 18, 1994. On September 16, 2008, Ordinance 5177 passed enacting §33.228 through §33.337.

The basic function of the Commission is to promote the educational, cultural, economic, and general welfare of the public through the preservation and the protection of buildings, sites, places, and districts of historic interest.

The powers and duties of the commission include: suggesting specific alternative guidelines for the alteration and new construction of structures; fostering and encouraging preservation and restoration; encouraging public participation in identifying and preserving these resources and promoting the safety, education, health, and general welfare of the citizens.

Meeting Videos

To view meeting recordings, visit our past meeting video archives.


Staggered three-year terms, ending June 30.


The commission consists of seven members.


Vacancies on the Commission shall be filled by appointment from the Mayor with the approval of the City Council.

Public Notification

A weekly meetings list is prepared by the Office of the City Clerk Treasurer; it is distributed to the press and posted online