Current Codes

Fayetteville's building, electrical, energy, mechanical, plumbing, and gas codes are taken directly from Arkansas State building standards and added to when reviewing for Fayetteville. Enforced by the Building Safety Division, these codes are in place to protect the health, safety, and welfare of the public through regulation of building construction practices. The list below are the current building codes that the Building Safety Department are required to follow.

  • 2006 Arkansas State Fuel and Gas Code
  • 2006 Arkansas State Plumbing
  • 2017 National Electrical Code
  • 2009 ANSI A117.1
  • 2010 Arkansas State Mechanical Code
  • 2011 Arkansas Energy Code (2009 IECC)
  • 2012 Arkansas Fire Prevention Code (2012 IBC & IRC with amendments)