City Elected Offices

Type of Government

Fayetteville, Arkansas, is the second largest city in the State of Arkansas and is the largest city in Arkansas with a Mayor / Council form of government. In this system, the City Council sets city policy by passing ordinances and resolutions. The Council also determines the city budget and appoints and removes certain board and commission members.

Elected Officials

The City government is elected by ward. Elected officials for the City of Fayetteville are Mayor (4-year term elected at-large), City Council (4-year terms elected by ward, with two representatives of each ward who run in staggered elections with each position 1 from a ward up for election at the same time and each position 2 from a ward elected at the same time). City Attorney (4-year term elected at large), City Clerk Treasurer (4-year term elected at large), and District Court Judge (4-year term elected at large). City department staff work under the executive branch of government led by the Mayor.